Today at Berkeley Lab Berkeley Lab logo US Dept. of Energy logoBerkeley Lab logo
Monday, Dec. 21, 2009

Berkeley Lab’s Milliron and Javey Win 2010 MDV Innovator Awards

Berkeley Lab’s Delia Milliron and Ali Javey are recipients of the 2010 Mohr Davidow Ventures (MDV) Innovators Award. Each will receive $50,000 in unrestricted funding for a one-year pilot project.

Established in 2008 by MDV, an early stage venture capital firm investing in business, technology and medicine, the MDV Innovator’s Award recognizes early career scientists for their groundbreaking efforts, and provides a launching pad for promising research that might not readily receive funding from conventional sources.

Milliron will develop new nanocrystal-enabled dynamic window technology to improve energy efficiency in buildings, while Javey will pursue low-cost manufacturing of novel nanopillar photovoltaics.

“I am deeply honored to receive this award from MDV,” said Milliron, Facility Director of the Inorganic Nanostructures Facility at Berkeley Lab’s nanoscience research center, the Molecular Foundry. “It will help accelerate the development of new energy conservation technologies within my group.”

“We have shown the versatility and potency of our nanopillar solar cell technology through process, materials and device architecture innovations,” said Javey, a faculty scientist in Berkeley Lab’s Materials Sciences Division and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at UC Berkeley. “This is an exciting award as it enables us to explore certain high-risk, high-reward directions for moving this project forward.”

Other Berkeley Lab scientists who have previously received this award include Rachel Segalman of the Materials Sciences Division and Jan Liphardt of the Physical Biosciences Division.

Go here to read a release on the awards from MDV.

Today at Berkeley Lab is produced by Public Affairs' Communications Department